Reshaping Rochester Awards

Event Information

Wednesday, December 9, 2015
at the Temple B'rith Kodesh

Award Tickets

Reshaping Rochester Awards

We were blown away by the record-number of inspiring nominations we received! After reviewing all of these nominees, we arrived at 21 finalists. We are excited to announce them to you now! 

2015 Robert Macon Award for Urban Innovation Finalists:

DePaul for their leadership in the development of the Carriage Factory Apartments, a multi-family residential project designed by SWBR Architects and housed in the former James Cunningham & Son Company carriage factory in the Susan B. Anthony neighborhood.

Gilbane Development Company and Fairmount Properties for their role as the developer of College Town Rochester, a mixed-use space that serves as an extension of the community surrounding the University of Rochester's main River Campus and the University of Rochester Medical Center.

Passero Associates for their role as architect of the Button Lofts Apartments & Townhomes, a renovated 20th century factory in the Upper Monroe neighborhood that includes 36 apartments and three townhouses.

DHD Ventures for their role as the developer of the Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown hotel, which involved the renovation of the former National Clothing Company building.

Conifer Realty, LLC for the transformation of the historic Corpus Christi School into the Market Apartments at Corpus Christi, 42 affordable apartment homes serving the needs of local artists.

Konar Properties for their role as the developer of Erie Station Village, a walkable, mixed-income apartment complex in Henrietta, designed by Urban Design Associates of Pittsburgh, PA.

Anthony DiMarzo and Mark IV Construction Co. for their contribution over the past 50 years of unique solutions for strengthening downtown Rochester's core, improving the downtown waterfront, and preserving the city's historic fabric.

City of Rochester, Department of Environmental Services - Bureau of Architecture and Engineering for their leadership in the completion of the West River Wall Master Plan, created in collaboration with Bergmann Associates and the Corn Hill Neighborhood Association to improve access to the Genesee River.

Gilbane Building Company for their role in the renovation and expansion of the 100-year-old Rochester World of Inquiry School No. 58, providing collaborative, flexible, and comfortable spaces for students grades K-12.

Philip Michael Brown Design and Rainaldi Enterprises for the design and development of the Culver Road Armory, a retail and office project that has renovated and expanded upon the historic armory at the site.

Germanow-Simon Corporation for their leadership in the renovation and reuse of the historic industrial buildings at 392 and 408 St. Paul Street in the High Falls District.

Konar Properties for their role as the developer of South & Hickory Place, a mixed-use building that acts as a crucial anchor building in the South Wedge. 

2015 Betty Strasenburgh Award for Activism Finalists:

Neil Scheier, MD for his dedication to his community as both a physician and an activist, and for his role in the continuing revitalization of the Joseph Avenue corridor in northeast Rochester.

Corn Hill Neighbors Association Inc. for their catalytic and tenacious stewardship of the Corn Hill Neighborhood which continues to keep the neighborhood safe, strong, and beautiful through physical improvements, social and cultural programming, and close partnerships with the City of Rochester.

Sector 4 Community Development Corporation for their work over the past two decades to create partnerships between neighbors, institutions, and businesses and advocate for the revitalization of the Sector 4 area.

North Winton Village Association for their dedication to improving the character and quality of the North Winton Village Neighborhood through preservation, beautification, and cultural and educational activities.

Sophie Paillard Elkin for her vision and dedication in converting the historic Farmers and Merchants Bank in Geneva into an enduring community gathering space using sustainable design practices.

Shawn Dunwoody for his use of collaborative public art projects to transform buildings in neglected neighborhoods while employing local youth and encouraging partnerships between different community stakeholders.

Ken Sato for his work as the founder of Big Picture Rochester, an effort to turn downtown Rochester's blank windows and facades into an outdoor art gallery and improve the negative perception of our urban core.

Hart's Local Grocers for their efforts to fill the need for a grocery store in downtown Rochester while providing access to the best of our state's regional produce and cuisine and creating over 50 jobs.

Roslyn Bakst Goldman for her tireless advocacy for the use of art to encourage vibrancy and prosperity in the City of Rochester.

From these finalists, Winners and Honorable Mentions will be selected by a jury of community members. Winners in these 2 categories will be announced and honored at the annual Reshaping Rochester Awards Luncheon to be held on Wednesday, December 9, from 11:45 - 1:30 p.m. at Temple B'rith Kodesh. Tickets go on sale in September at, and are $50 per person or $500 for a table sponsor. Sponsorships are also available at several levels.