Reshaping Rochester Awards

Event Information

8th Annual Reshaping Rochester Awards

Save the date!

Thursday, November 8, 2018
11:30 AM - 1:30 PM
Harro East Ballroom
155 North Chestnut St.

Awards Planning Committee

Maria Furgiuele
Amy Hecker
Tina Kurland
Bill Price
Kathy DiGiulio
Angela Richards

Reshaping Rochester Awards

Reshaping Rochester Award Categories and Past Winners

Robert Macon Award for Urban Innovation

This award, established to honor the late architect Robert Macon, is given for a building, development, or planning effort that has contributed in a unique way to the community and earned praise for its unique solution to urban design and the built environment.

2017 Winner: Stadium Estates
Honorable Mention: Eastman Gardens

2016 Winner: Tower280
Honorable Mention: Rochester Institute of Technology's Center for Urban Entrepeneurship

2015 Winner: Culver Road Armory
Honorable Mention: DePaul

2014 Winner: Edgemere Development Inc.
Honorable Mention: Birkett Landing

2013 Winner: Memorial Art Gallery Centennial Sculpture Park
Honorable Mention: Rochester Schools Modernization Program

2012 Winner: I-490 Western Gateway Project
Honorable Mention: Urban League of Rochester Economic Development Corporation for The Mills at High Falls

2011 Winner: University of Rochester for the Eastman East Wing Addition and Kodak Hall

Betty Strasenburgh Award for Activism
This award, named in honor of Rochester activist Betty Strasenburgh, celebrates civic spirit, persistence and determination that translate vision into reality. It recognizes an individual who has made a personal effort to go beyond boundaries to achieve a goal. These efforts must have made a visible change in a community, and affected people's thinking about the need to pursue challenging paths toward a productive end.

2017 Winner: Joseph Avenue Arts and Culture Alliance
Honorable Mention: R Community Bikes Inc.

2016 Winner: Theresa Bowick
Honorable Mention: Finger Lakes Health Systems Agency Healthi Kids Play-BEST Team

2015 Winner: Roz Goldman
Honorable Mention: Corn Hill Neighbors Association

2014 Winner: Peter Monacelli
Honorable Mention: Project Scion

2013 Winner: Richard DeSarra, Bicycle Activist
Honorable Mention: Joseph Avenue Business Association

2012 Winner: Marketview Heights Collective Action Team
Honorable Mention: Tom Ferraro, Executive Director of Foodlink

2011 Winner: Jim Fraser and Jo Dickinson for Community Revitalization efforts in the Clifford/Conkey Neighborhood

Joni Monroe Award (formerly the Directors' Award)
This award, given by CDCR's Board of Directors, recognizes an individual or organization that has advanced the level of community design, planning, policy and financial competency, achieving visible success over a period of time; following best practices; communicating a vision to the community; maintaining sound financial management; and demonstrating steps to sustain continued success.

2017 Winner: Marik IV for Corn Hill Commons and Corn Hill Landing
Honorable Mention: The Landmark Society

2016 Winner: In Honor of Larry Glazer
Honorable Mention: JoAnn Beck

2015 Winners: Joni Monroe and Paul Kramer
Honorable Mention: Mike Governale

2014 Winner: Gary Stern for the creation of The Village Gate
Honorable Mention: Genesee Land Trust for their work on the El Camino Trail

2013 Winner: South Wedge Planning Committee
Honorable Mention: The Perry Project, Perry, NY

2012 Winner: City of Rochester Public Market
Honorable Mention: The Cultural Center Commission

2011 Winner: Village of Pittsford for Leadership in Planning