Reshaping Rochester Awards

Event Information

9th Annual Reshaping Rochester Awards

Thursday, November 14, 2019
11:30 AM - 1:30 PM
Harro East Ballroom
155 North Chestnut St.



Individual Tickets: $55 each

Table of 8: $500

Please note: Tickets typically sell out and will NOT be available at the door.

Awards Planning Committee

Maria Furgiuele
Amy Hecker
Tina Kurland
Bill Price
Stacey Veolette Waxtan
Jeremy Shawe
Monika Reifenstein


Thank you to our sponsors!



Michele Ryder


Each year, the Community Design Center presents a special luncheon event to honor the winners of the annual Reshaping Rochester Awards. The awards recognize exemplary regional initiatives and projects that positively impact people, neighborhoods, and the community. The Award for Urban Innovation in honor of Robert Macon and the Award for Activism in honor of Betty Strasenburgh winners are nominated by YOU, the public! Winners will be announced at the Awards Luncheon on November 14, 2019!

Jeff SpeckKeynote Speaker:

Monica McCullough

Founder, MM Development Advisors, Inc.

Monica brings more than 15 years of experience in mission-driven housing and community development. She has participated in the successful development of more than $200 million in mixed-used, multi-family and single-family residential properties located across New York, Pennsylvania,Indiana and Puerto Rico.

MM Development Advisors, Inc. is a Rochester, NY based real estate development and affordable housing consulting company. The company is a New York State Certified Woman-owned Business Enterprise.  




Reshaping Rochester Award Categories:

Award for Urban Innovation in honor of Robert Macon
Established to honor the late architect Robert Macon, nominations for this award recognize projects that demonstrate Design Excellence and contribute to enriching the public realm. Projects can include new construction or the re-use of existing structures.

  • 2018 Macon Winner: Inner Loop East Transformation
  • 2018 Macon Honorable Mention: Newberry Place - freshLAB


Click here to download the application form here!


Award for Activism in honor of Betty Strasenburgh

This award, named in honor of Rochester activist Betty Strasenburgh, underscores the importance of civic spirit, persistence, and determination that translates visions into reality.  It recognizes individuals who or organizations that are going beyond conventional boundaries to achieve a transformative idea or process that positively impacts a community in our greater Rochester region.

  • 2018 Strasenburgh Winner: Michael Tomb and Marcia Zach
  • 2018 Strasenburgh Honorable Mention: Sophie Paillard-Elkin

Click here to download the application form here!


Directors’ Award
This award recognizes efforts that have enhanced the public realm and contributed to its vibrancy.
The Design Center’s Board of Directors considers:
- Demonstrated high quality level of community design, planning, policy and expertise
- Visible success of an endeavor over an extended period of time
- Communication of a vision



Click here to see past Reshaping Rochester Award winners!